Northeast Florida Branch - Dist. IV

Branch Officers
Chairman: Robert Kermitz, 904-535-0979,
Vice-Chairman: Todd Grant, 904-315-8499,
Secretary: Lisa Sterling, 904-923-6022,
Treasurer: Marcy Cook, 904-614-0435 Marcy Cook

District Rep: Joey Duncan, 904-636-6125 Joey Duncan

The Northeast Florida Branch, comprising seven counties in northeast Florida (Baker, Clay, Duval, Flagler, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns), traces the roots of its founding to 1975, when one of the “founding fathers” of the Florida Chapter, Bill Bryant, and a future Life Member and Chapter President, Stan Nodland, met to discuss the creation of the Northeast Branch, along with preparing for the upcoming Florida Chapter Annual Meeting and Trade Show the following year. Realizing that they needed help, they recruited another future Life Member, Florida Chapter Member of the Year and Chapter President, George Knecht, to help in this endeavor, along with another future Florida Chapter Member of the Year, Al Kinard.

Over the next few years, these and others tirelessly toiled to ensure the branch by-laws were written and adopted, established a branch budget and successfully secured the support of the City of Jacksonville for the newly found organization, which paid the membership dues for several employees. Meanwhile, informal, low key monthly meetings, mostly attended by City of Jacksonville employees, were set up to discuss branch goals and activities, and to encourage everyone to get involved in Florida Chapter activities.

These early actions eventually led to the anticipated result, with the Chapter formally accepting the Branch as an integral member on April 26, 1979. As time progressed, the Branch embodied members from all the northeast counties, including the corporate community. In the mid-1980’s, the increased support from the private sector was recognized by alternating the Chairman position, public and then private, which only strengthened the community ties with APWA. Currently, the Branch may not be the biggest or the most affluent, but it is tight knit and provides much support to the members.

Florida Public Works Expo 
April 17-19, 2018

The APWA Florida Chapter Expo will be held April 17-19, 2018 at the Prime Osborn Convention Center in Jacksonville, Florida. This is a great opportunity to highlight all the first coast has to offer!  To get the ball rolling, the Northeast Florida Branch will be hosting a meet'n'greet with the APWA Executive Committee Friday, January 19, 2018. 

Register Here

Northeast Florida Branch Scholarships
Deadline January 15, 2018!

The Northeast Florida Branch of the American Public Works Association Florida Chapter is pleased to announce our 2018 Scholarship Program.  Scholarships are available for public works related academic studies at accredited colleges and universities, and for public agency employee technical training at the Florida Public Works Institute.

Download application

Scholarships are available for:

Public Works Academy - up to $1,000

Public Works Agency - up to $1,000

Undergraduate - up to $1,000

Graduate - up to $1,000

Branch Documents


You have been logged out...

You have been logged out of the system due to inactivity. Please login again.